1982 Monaco Grand Prix

The 1982 Monaco Grand Prix was Round 6 of the 1982 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. The event was held on the streets of Monte Carlo on Sunday, 23 May 1982. René Arnoux started on pole position for Renault and Riccardo Patrese was the race winner in the Brabham Ford.

1982 Monaco Grand Prix Race Result
Pos.No.DriverNationalityTeamTyreLapsTime/RetiredRace TimeGapIntervalBest LapLapSpeedStartedPoints
12Riccardo PatreseItalyBrabham FordGoodyear761:54:11.2591:54:11.2591:26.35469132.26229
228Didier PironiFranceFerrariGoodyear75Out of fuel1:51:16.5631 lap1 lap1:26.66467133.93756
322Andrea de CesarisItalyAlfa RomeoMichelin75Out of fuel1:51:43.9391 lap+27.3761:27.13812133.39074
412Nigel MansellGreat BritainLotus FordGoodyear75+1 lap1:54:55.9531 lap+3:12.0141:27.52668129.676113
511Elio de AngelisItalyLotus FordGoodyear75+1 lap1:55:07.9121 lap+11.9591:27.64137129.451152
65Derek DalyIrelandWilliams FordGoodyear74Accident1:51:16.9142 laps1 lap1:27.07359132.14481
715Alain ProstFranceRenaultMichelin73Spun Off1:47:19.4553 laps1 lap1:26.61853135.1654
84Brian HentonGreat BritainTyrrell FordGoodyear72+4 laps1:54:19.4394 laps1 lap1:29.93943125.15117
929Marc SurerSwitzerlandArrows FordPirelli70+6 laps1:55:40.3196 laps2 laps1:30.32512120.25719
103Michele AlboretoItalyTyrrell FordGoodyear69Suspension1:42:40.1287 laps1 lap1:27.16832133.5529
DNF6Keke RosbergFinlandWilliams FordGoodyear64Collision1:34:27.2161:27.47243134.6486
DNF8Niki LaudaAustriaMcLaren FordMichelin56Engine1:24:38.7671:27.41519131.46812
DNF1Nelson PiquetBrazilBrabham BMWGoodyear49Turbo1:15:33.4751:29.50831128.87113
DNF7John WatsonGreat BritainMcLaren FordMichelin35Electrical52:17.7551:27.63019132.99610
DNF9Manfred WinkelhockGermanyATS FordMichelin31Differential46:47.6951:29.01710131.64514
DNF26Jacques LaffiteFranceLigier MatraMichelin29Handling43:54.1941:28.97510131.26318
DNF25Eddie CheeverUnited StatesLigier MatraMichelin27Oil Leak41:14.1911:30.33519130.11316
DNF10Eliseo SalazarChileATS FordMichelin22Mechanical36:23.9301:31.70122120.10920
DNF16René ArnouxFranceRenaultMichelin14Spun Off20:37.8731:27.5469134.8481
DNF23Bruno GiacomelliItalyAlfa RomeoMichelin4Halfshaft6:08.4181:30.3263129.4523
DNQ30Mauro BaldiItalyArrows FordPirelli
DNQ33Jan LammersNetherlandsTheodore FordGoodyear
DNQ17Jochen MassGermanyMarch FordAvon
DNQ35Derek WarwickGreat BritainToleman HartPirelli
DNQ31Jean Pierre JarierFranceOsella FordPirelli
DNQ14Roberto GuerreroColombiaEnsign FordAvon
DNPQ36Teo FabiItalyToleman HartPirelli
DNPQ32Riccardo PalettiItalyOsella FordPirelli
DNPQ18Raul BoeselBrazilMarch FordAvon
DNPQ20Chico SerraBrazilFittipaldi FordPirelli
DNPQ19Emilio de VillotaSpainMarch FordAvon

Memorable Race Moments

Race Start

René Arnoux converts pole position to lead the field through Sainte Dévote in the Renault. Bruno Giacomelli moves up ahead of Alain Prost to run an impressive 2nd in the Alfa Romeo.

Lap 4

Alain Prost overtakes Bruno Giacomelli’s Alfa Romeo at Sainte Dévote.

Lap 14

René Arnoux loses it at the Swimming Pool and stalls. His Renault team-mate Alain Prost takes over the lead of the race.

Lap 73

Murray Walker: “And there goes Prost! Off! As did Arnoux, my goodness... What an incredible development.”

As rain starts to fall in the closing stages of the race, Alain Prost dramatically crashes exiting the Chicane, losing a front right wheel. Riccardo Patrese takes the lead in the Brabham.

Lap 75

James Hunt: “Well Riccardo Patrese now has all the pressure off, he only has to cruise round the place… and he’s sliding and he’s lost it! Dear oh dear oh dear. Can he keep the engine running because he can still win the race if he can just get the car going again..."

Riccardo Patrese loses his Brabham and stalls at the Loews hairpin, handing the lead to Didier Pironi in the Ferrari.

Lap 76

Unbelievably, new race leader Didier Pironi slows to a halt in the tunnel. Before he can take over the lead, Andrea de Cesaris runs out of fuel in the Alfa Romeo and next potential winner Derek Daly coasts to a standstill with a gearbox, minus his rear wing.

Defying belief, after managing to restart his Brabham following his spin, Riccardo Patrese comes through to win his first Grand Prix.