1983 Race of Champions

The 1983 Marlboro Race of Champions was a non-championship round of the 1983 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. The event was held at Brands Hatch, United Kingdom on Sunday, 10 April 1983. Keke Rosberg started on pole position in the Williams Ford and was the race winner. 

This event was the first non-championship Formula One race since the 1981 South African Grand Prix and remains the last time a non-championship F1 race was held.

1983 Marlboro Race of Champions Race Result
Pos.No.DriverNationalityTeamTyreLapsTime/RetiredRace TimeGapBest LapLapSpeedStarted
11Keke RosbergFinlandWilliams FordGoodyear4053:15.25353:15.253-1:18.6284189.7191
24Danny SullivanUnited StatesTyrrell FordGoodyear4053:15.74353:15.743+0.4901:18.72810189.5805
330Alan JonesAustraliaArrows FordGoodyear4053:43.89553:43.895+28.6421:19.20525187.8103
434Brian HentonGreat BritainTheodore FordGoodyear4053:55.77353:55.773+40.5201:19.31439187.1666
526Raul BoeselBrazilLigier FordMichelin4053:56.22453:56.224+40.9711:18.12337187.1669
617Jean Louis SchlesserFranceRAM FordPirelli39+1 lap+1 lap1:20.8963613
733Roberto GuerreroColombiaTheodore FordGoodyear39+1 lap+1 lap1:19.278367
DNF29Chico SerraBrazilArrows FordGoodyear30Gear linkage1:18.9062811
DNF28René ArnouxFranceFerrariGoodyear23Tyres1:17.826182
DNF5Hector RebaqueMexicoBrabham BMWMichelin14Suspension1:19.8741110
DNF7John WatsonGreat BritainMcLaren FordMichelin8Transmission1:19.37554
DNF12Nigel MansellGreat BritainLotus RenaultPirelli6Handling1:23.76448
DNF40Stefan JohanssonSwedenSpirit HondaGoodyear4Engine1:21.850412


After 40 Laps


Keke Rosberg

Williams Ford


189.555 Km/h

168.244 Km

fastest lap


Rene Arnoux



Lap 18

194.561 Km/h

Pole Position


Keke Rosberg

Williams Ford


199.851 Km/h