1985 Dutch Grand Prix

The 1985 Dutch Grand Prix was Round 11 of the 1985 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. The event was held at the Zandvoort circuit in Holland on Sunday, 25 August 1985. Nelson Piquet started on pole position in the Brabham BMW and Niki Lauda was the race winner in the McLaren TAG.


Grote Prijs Van Nederland 1985 Race Result
Pos.No.DriverNationalityTeamTyreLapsTime/RetiredRace TimeGapIntervalBest LapLapSpeedStartedPoints
11Niki LaudaAustriaMcLaren TAGGoodyear701:32:29.2631:32:29.2631:17.05460193.089109
22Alain ProstFranceMcLaren TAGGoodyear70+0.2321:32:29.495+0.232+0.2321:16.53857193.08136
312Ayrton SennaBrazilLotus Renault Goodyear70+48.4911:33:17.754+48.491+48.2591:17.83531191.41644
427Michele AlboretoItalyFerrariGoodyear70+48.8371:33:18.100+48.837+0.3461:17.71043191.404163
511Elio de AngelisItalyLotus Renault Goodyear69+1 lap1:33:07.7691 lap1 lap1:18.22939189.019112
65Nigel MansellGreat BritainWilliams HondaGoodyear69+1 lap1:33:12.6721 lap+4.9031:17.28644188.85371
73Martin BrundleGreat BritainTyrrell RenaultGoodyear69+1 lap1:33:42.1401 lap+29.4681:19.25947187.86321
87Nelson PiquetBrazilBrabham BMWPirelli69+1 lap1:33:46.8591 lap+4.7191:17.57751187.7061
917Gerhard BergerAustriaArrows BMWGoodyear68+2 laps1:32:58.3182 laps1 lap1:19.29445186.59514
108Marc SurerSwitzerlandBrabham BMWPirelli65Exhaust1:32:31.4055 laps3 laps1:19.4009179.2289
NC24Huub RothengatterNetherlandsOsella Alfa RomeoPirelli56+14 laps1:32:44.0721:23.10251154.06026
DNF18Thierry BoutsenBelgiumArrows BMWGoodyear54Suspension1:14:22.2271:18.73047185.2418
DNF9Philippe AlliotFranceRAM HartPirelli52Engine1:12:15.2021:20.92819183.60725
DNF4Stefan BellofGermanyTyrrell RenaultGoodyear39Engine53:05.7861:18.87831187.38822
DNF16Derek WarwickGreat BritainRenaultGoodyear27Gearbox36:22.1521:18.2304189.39712
DNF25Andrea de CesarisItalyLigier RenaultPirelli25Turbo34:22.0411:19.98014185.58318
DNF15Patrick TambayFranceRenaultGoodyear22Transmission29:27.4871:17.33516190.5296
DNF6Keke RosbergFinlandWilliams HondaGoodyear20Engine27:13.4601:18.3693187.4202
DNF19Teo FabiItalyToleman HartPirelli18Wheel Bearing24:55.9811:19.04316184.1795
DNF26Jacques LaffiteFranceLigier RenaultPirelli17Electrical23:04.3861:19.5495187.96913
DNF30Jonathan PalmerGreat BritainZakspeedGoodyear13Oil Pressure17:55.8431:20.50512184.96523
DNF20Piercarlo GhinzaniItalyToleman HartPirelli12Engine16:52.0201:20.9204181.50415
DNF28Stefan JohanssonSwedenFerrariGoodyear9Engine12:40.1591:19.3855181.23117
DNF29Pierluigi MartiniItalyMinardi Motori ModerniPirelli1Accident1:41.4821:41.4821150.83624
DNF23Eddie CheeverUnited StatesAlfa RomeoGoodyear1Turbo1:50.4081:50.4081138.64220
DNF22Riccardo PatreseItalyAlfa RomeoGoodyear1Turbo2:11.2712:11.2711116.60719
DNQ10Kenny AchesonGreat BritainRAM HartPirelli

Memorable Race Moments

Race Start

Pole sitter Nelson Piquet stalls his Brabham BMW at the start, handing the lead to Keke Rosberg in the Williams Honda.

Lap 6

Niki Lauda passes Teo Fabi’s Toleman down the straight for 4th position.

Lap 9

Stefan Johansson suffers an engine failure in the Ferrari and retires.

Lap 15

Down the start/finish straight Patrick Tambay’s Renault tows past the Ferrari of Michele Alboreto, who then locks his brakes and has a moment into Tarzan.

Lap 20

James Hunt: “That looks like Keke Rosberg in trouble.”

Race leader Keke Rosberg’s Honda engine blows and he tours into the pits to retire.

Lap 29

Ayrton Senna overtakes Marc Surer's Brabham down the straight.

Lap 33

Race leader Alain Prost makes a pit stop which lasts for 18.31 seconds and hands the leads to Niki Lauda.

Lap 47

Alain Prost overtakes Ayrton Senna’s JPS Lotus down the straight and begins hunting down race leader Niki Lauda.

Lap 68

Alain Prost puts a wheel on the grass as he closes right up to the the back of McLaren team-mate Niki Lauda.

Lap 70

Under massive sustained pressure from Alain Prost, Niki Lauda holds off his team-mate to win the Dutch Grand Prix and claim his 25th and final F1 victory.