1987 Austrian Grand Prix

The 1987 Austrian Grand Prix was Round 10 of the 1987 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. The event was held at the Österreichring circuit in Austria on Sunday, 16 August 1987 and this was the last year the Austrian Grand Prix was held at the fearsome track. Nelson Piquet started on pole position in the Williams Honda and his team-mate Nigel Mansell was the race winner.

It took three attempts to start this Grand Prix after two first lap accidents involving multiple cars. Following the Grand Prix, race winner Mansell hit his head on a steel girder and, shortly afterwards, during the post-race press conference, legendary BBC TV commentator Murray Walker accidentally poked the “enormous bump” on Mansell’s head while trying to let viewers see it.

1987 Austrian Grand Prix Race Result
Pos.No.DriverNationalityTeamTyreLapsTime/RetiredRace TimeGapIntervalBest LapLapStartedPoints
15Nigel MansellGreat BritainWilliams HondaGoodyear521:18:44.8981:18:44.898--1:28.3183129
26Nelson PiquetBrazilWilliams HondaGoodyear52+55.7041:19:40.602+55.704+55.7041:28.3582716
319Teo FabiItalyBenetton FordGoodyear51+1 lap1 lap1 lap1:29.5594154
420Thierry BoutsenBelgiumBenetton FordGoodyear51+1 lap1 lap1:29.1111843
512Ayrton SennaBrazilLotus HondaGoodyear50+2 laps2 laps1 lap1:28.5594872
61Alain ProstFranceMcLaren TAGGoodyear50+2 laps2 laps1:29.2913291
72Stefan JohanssonSwedenMcLaren TAGGoodyear50+2 laps2 laps1:29.2385014
826Piercarlo GhinzaniItalyLigier MegatronGoodyear50+2 laps2 laps1:34.3721418
910Christian DannerGermanyZakspeedGoodyear49+3 laps3 laps1 lap1:32.8172820
1025René ArnouxFranceLigier MegatronGoodyear49+3 laps3 laps1:34.785916
1116Ivan CapelliItalyMarch FordGoodyear49+3 laps3 laps1:35.6164223
1230Philippe AlliotFranceLola FordGoodyear49+3 laps3 laps1:36.0274122
1311Satoru NakajimaJapanLotus HondaGoodyear49+3 laps3 laps1:31.6854013
143Jonathan PalmerGreat BritainTyrrell FordGoodyear47+5 laps5 laps2 laps1:38.2451724
DSQ9Martin BrundleGreat BritainZakspeedGoodyear48Disqualified4 laps1:35.615317
NC14Pascal FabreFranceAGS FordGoodyear45+7 laps7 laps3 laps1:42.8442626
DNF7Riccardo PatreseItalyBrabham BMWGoodyear43Engine9 laps2 laps1:30.629308
DNF27Michele AlboretoItalyFerrariGoodyear42Turbo10 laps1 lap1:30.148296
DNF8Andrea de CesarisItalyBrabham BMWGoodyear35Engine17 laps7 laps1:31.9603110
DNF17Derek WarwickGreat BritainArrows MegatronGoodyear35Engine17 laps1:31.7833111
DNF18Eddie CheeverUnited StatesArrows MegatronGoodyear31Tyre21 laps4 laps1:31.8143012
DNF28Gerhard BergerAustriaFerrariGoodyear5Turbo47 laps26 laps1:30.34353
DNF23Adrian CamposSpainMinardi Motori ModerniGoodyear3Electrical49 laps2 laps1:37.854319
DNF24Alessandro NanniniItalyMinardi Motori ModerniGoodyear1Engine51 laps2 laps2:06.843115
DNF21Alex CaffiItalyOsella Alfa RomeoGoodyearElectrical52 laps1 lap21
DNF4Philippe StreiffFranceTyrrell FordGoodyearAccident52 laps25