1994 San Marino Grand Prix

The 1994 San Marino Grand Prix was Round 3 of the 1994 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. The event was held in Imola, Italy on Sunday, 1 May 1994. Ayrton Senna started on pole position in the Williams Renault and Michael Schumacher was the race winner in the Benetton Ford.

On lap 7 of the race, race leader Ayrton Senna left the road at the high-speed Tamburello corner and crashed into a wall. Tragically, he sustained fatal head injuries in the accident after being hit by a wheel and a piece of suspension from his wrecked Williams Renault FW14. The exact reasons why Senna veered off the track will always remain unknown.

On Saturday, during qualifying, Roland Ratzenberger was killed when he crashed his Simtek Ford into the wall at Curva Villeneuve at over 195mph after his front wing broke.

On Friday, Rubens Barrichello was lucky to survive a life-threatening accident which saw him knocked unconscious after launching his Jordan Hart off the kerbs at the Variante Bassa chicane and violently flipping the car. He was saved by the prompt action of Professor Sid Watkins.

1994 Gran Premio Di San Marino Imola Race Result
Pos.No.DriverDriver NationalityTeamTyreLapsTime/RetiredGapIntervalBest LapLapStartedPoints
15Michael SchumacherGermanyBenetton FordGoodyear581:28:28.642--1:24.43843210
227Nicola LariniItalyFerrariGoodyear58+54.942+54.942+54.9421:25.8251866
37Mika HäkkinenFinlandMcLaren PeugeotGoodyear58+1:10.679+1:10.679+15.7371:25.7371884
429Karl WendlingerAustriaSauber MercedesGoodyear58+1:13.658+1:13.658+2.9791:25.72754103
53Ukyo KatayamaJapanTyrrell YamahaGoodyear57+1 lap1 lap1 lap1:26.1761192
60Damon HillGreat BritainWilliams RenaultGoodyear57+1 lap1 lap1:24.3351041
730Heinz-Harald FrentzenGermanySauber MercedesGoodyear57+1 lap1 lap1:25.307417
88Martin BrundleGreat BritainMcLaren PeugeotGoodyear57+1 lap1 lap1:25.7745413
94Mark BlundellGreat BritainTyrrell YamahaGoodyear56+2 laps2 laps1 lap1:26.2592512
1012Johnny HerbertGreat BritainLotus Mugen HondaGoodyear56+2 laps2 laps1:28.0321020
1126Olivier PanisFranceLigier RenaultGoodyear56+2 laps2 laps1:27.9081619
1225Éric BernardFranceLigier RenaultGoodyear55+3 laps3 laps1 lap1:28.0912317
139Christian FittipaldiBrazilFootwork FordGoodyear54Spun off4 laps1 lap1:25.9541116
DNF15Andrea de CesarisItalyJordan HartGoodyear49Spun off9 laps5 laps1:27.6273821
DNF24Michele AlboretoItalyMinardi FordGoodyear44Wheel14 laps5 laps1:27.9952115
DNF10Gianni MorbidelliItalyFootwork FordGoodyear40Engine18 laps4 laps1:25.6521211
DNF23Pierluigi MartiniItalyMinardi FordGoodyear37Spun off21 laps3 laps1:27.2212114
DNF31David BrabhamAustraliaSimtek FordGoodyear27Spun off31 laps10 laps1:28.6131024
DNF34Bertrand GachotFrancePacific IlmorGoodyear23Engine35 laps4 laps1:29.0941225
DNF19Olivier BerettaMonacoLarrousse FordGoodyear17Engine41 laps6 laps1:28.8911023
DNF28Gerhard BergerAustriaFerrariGoodyear16Suspension42 laps1 lap1:25.040113
DNF2Ayrton SennaBrazilWilliams RenaultGoodyear5Fatal Accident53 laps11 laps1:44.06811
DNF20Érik ComasFranceLarrousse FordGoodyear5Vibrations53 laps1:58.505118
DNF6JJ LehtoFinlandBenetton FordGoodyearCollision58 laps5 laps5
DNF11Pedro LamyPortugalLotus Mugen HondaGoodyearCollision58 laps22
DNQ32Roland RatzenbergerAustriaSimtek FordGoodyear58 laps
DNQ33Paul BelmondoFrancePacific IlmorGoodyear58 laps
DNQ14Rubens BarrichelloBrazilJordan HartGoodyear58 laps